Remember the Bee Girl from the Blind Melon video?

Posted: December 3, 2008 by ginavivinetto in film, Gina Vivinetto, music, television
Tags: , , , , ,

By Gina Vivinetto

In an earlier post, we wrote about Spencer Elden, the little baby on the cover of Nirvana‘s Nevermind album who’s now a 17-year-old young man.

spencer_elden_split

Well, we just found an recent interview with Heather DeLoach, the little Bee Girl from Blind Melon‘s whimsical 1993 “No Rain” video.

Let’s refresh your memory:

Heather is now a 25-year-old actress living in California. Here’s the Bee Girl all grown up:

ent058

Heather appeared in the flicks A Little Princess, Camp Nowhere, Anywhere But Here, and on the television programs Tracey Takes On, ER, and Reno 911.

Heather says, naturally, people don’t recognize her as the Bee Girl:

“When I casually meet people, they don’t know and I don’t display it to them,” she says. “But within an hour, someone is bragging about it, like my boyfriend or my friends, and they’re like, ‘Oh my God, that’s you?’ “

But she doesn’t mind:

(It’s) the best thing that happened to me. At 80 years old, people are still going to be wondering what I’m doing,” she says. “It’s opened so many doors with acting and my personal life, it’s been a blessing.”

Nice to catch up with you, Bee Girl!

Comments
  1. geomakla says:

    very cool!
    I knew the song, but never saw the video. I’m an old deadhead, so the guitar line reminds me of that, and the child’s tale is rather akin to it as well. Very good video…okay…so I’m a bit late getting that out!

  2. I don’t give a crap what anyone says… I love that song and I love that video. It makes me teary every time I watch it.

  3. Deborah Frost says:

    So the moral of this story is: Do be a Bee Girl.

  4. […] And I’ll have it made And I’ll have it made, oh Lord no no You know I’m really gonna, really gonna have it made You know I’ll have it made Ahhh, ahhh, ahhh, ahhh Blind Melon were pretty much a on-hit wonder band. I also like another track: Change but their career ended with their lead singer’s death. Download this track here and check out this really amazing Stripped away version And if you ever wondered whatever happened to the bee girl from the video check this link […]

Leave a Reply

