A little intro: photographer Carrie Waite

Posted: November 27, 2008 by Carrie Waite in art, Carrie Waite, music, photography
Tags: , , ,

By Carrie Waite

Rock n’ roller. Music geek. Audio file. I’m not really any of these things.  And don’t you ever fucking call me a hipster.  Scenester is nearly as criminal a term.  I’m just looking for a little inspiration, ya know?  That’s all.  Just a little.  I get it from music.  From my friends.  It’s cliche to say but it is my church.  The music,  the spirit,  the communal feeling.  And it’s got to be live music.  It’s got to be organic.  I’m sorry but your sorry ass MP3s and IPODs just don’t cut it for me.  I want the real thing.  

These moments of inspiration come in such small doses and oh so infrequently, that I had to figure out a way to capture them, put them in my pocket and take them home with me.  How can I make these little morsels of actual living last long enough, so as to get me through the cold, lonely, day to day rat race?  I’ll take a picture of it.  Make it last longer. Har. Har. 

As my introductory blog, I’ll give you a little sampling from when I first began taking pictures.  This picture of one of my all time favorite rock/punk bands, Nutrajet, was my first ever published photograph. It was Feb or March of 2002 for Weekly Planet aka Creative Loafing. Nutrajet were drummer, Jeff Wood, on the left, and guitarist/singer, Greg Reinel, aka Stainboy, on the right.  Their shows were raucous and rebellious and never ever predictable.  Jeff passed away last year after an agonizing struggle with brain cancer.  He gave it all, every show.  We miss you, Jeff.  You were THE Jeff Wood.  The only one.  

These are Jeff’s hands after a Nutrajet show at the Copper Rocket in Orlando.

So happy to be a sweaty bitch,
Carrie
Comments
  1. Deborah Frost says:

    So happy you be, too.

  2. ginavivinetto says:

    Yay, Carrie! And a nice homage to THE Jeff Wood. Miss him.

  3. joe positive says:

    glad that someone else besides me considers “scenester” to be a criminal term…

    I like your photos. Please post more of them.

  4. Andrea Halpern says:

    This is great! I love this! Thanks for posting, and for posting some of my fave pictures of sweet Jeff. I love you sweaty bitches– you’re right up my alley. xo

  5. Gerg Reinel says:

    I love the photos you took of us Carrie. I’m missing Jeff so much. I remember you shooting on this night like it was yesterday.
    -Greg

  6. There’s definately a lot to find out about this subject. I like all the points you have made.

Leave a Reply

