Stories From The Road: The Pleasure Seekers meet Iron Butterfly

Posted: December 5, 2008 by ginavivinetto in gender stuff, music, nancy Quatro, Stories From the Road
Tags: , , , , , ,

By Nancy Quatro Glass

I was only 15, on tour with the The Pleasure Seekers, and quite innocent to the ways of musicians.

Nancy Quatro with tambourine performing with The Pleasure Seekers, 1966

Nancy Quatro with tambourine performing with The Pleasure Seekers, 1966

Does anyone remember the band Iron Butterfly?

Iron Butterfly in the 1960s.

Iron Butterfly in the 1960s.

Picture me walking down the hotel hall to my room, all of the doors open with the smell of pot all around, and out walks the guitar player from Iron Butterfly into the hall wearing only a towel and carrying a watermelon.

He bends down to roll the watermelon down the hall to me and his towel drops. He is standing there buck naked. (That is the first time I ever saw a man’s penis).

I turned and ran the other way cause I thought it might do something scary to me!

I learned very quickly that I would see many more musicians in much the same way as they seem to want to bare all as often as possible.

Nancy Quatro Glass spent her teen years singing and playing bass in The Pleasure Sisters, a popular 1960s all-female Detroit garage rock band formed by her sisters Patti, Suzi, and Arlene. Nancy and Patti went on to form the hard rock band Cradle and are currently at work reissuing an album of Cradle’s music.

Comments
  1. Jimmy says:

    Makes me wonder… he had a shower, got a towel and grabbed a water melon and went out?

    I think your intuition was right!

  2. Deborah Frost says:

    Watermelons can be scary, too.

  3. Deborah Frost says:

    How fast would you run if you saw a woman’s penis!

  4. Kajsa Arkanius says:

    Eating watermelon won’t be the same anymore…….

  5. Deborah Frost says:

    BTW, who is the midget in the leopard vest and WHAT dance is she doing?

  6. mathmatika says:

    How fast would I run if I saw a woman’s penis?
    Deb, is that towards or away from the woman?.. *ponders*

  7. Janet Morris says:

    NANCY! This is Janet – I knew you back when you lived at Mike’s house on Pemberton. I would love to catch up with you!

  8. Jan mckenzie says:

    Heh. I lived in your house on Balfour in Detroit ….upper flat… How the heck r u doin. How r your kids. Wow

Leave a Reply

