Best of 2008: Cathy Wos’s votes

Posted: December 17, 2008 by ginavivinetto in Best of 2008, Cathy Wos, music, rock criticism
Tags: , , , , , ,

By Cathy Wos

I was born a Soulless Media Whore. I was weaned on TV and Music is my Therapy.
One day I decided to use my powers for good not evil and I became a librarian.
Last year I moved to Seattle and I was like a kid in a candy store when it came to live music. When you live in Florida, most bands don’t make the extra trek down south.
It is hard to say no to a live show, but my money and schedule can only permit so much. I’ve attended Bumbershoot twice and love it. There are criticisms about the festival becoming too mainstream and expensive, but seriously I think the pros outweigh the cons. Some of my favorite moments at Bumbershoot are the unexpected, like the intimate show by John Wesley Harding in 2007 or Sherman Alexie’s performance and the tribute to Hall and Oates by Ellen Forney in 2008:

So here’s my Top 5 Concerts for 2008:

5. Old 97s
I saw the Old 97s twice this year – once at the Showbox and again at Bumbershoot.
I love this band. I don’t care how self-absorbed Rhett Miller is or how disillusioned.
Unlucky in love? You’re gorgeous, rich, famous AND married to a super model.
Yet, somehow I always buy it.

4. The Wedding Present
Considering that David Gedge lived in Seattle for a spell, I anticipated a bigger crowd for this gig at Neumos. Granted it was a Tuesday night (what I consider the “Hipster Day of Rest”) but there were probably only a hundred people at this show. Seriously? Is Seattle so jaded by the live music scene? Luckily for me, The Wedding Present wasn’t and put on a phenomenal show. Gedge takes it all in self-deprecating stride. When I remarked on how my friend saw him in Tallahassee he joked that he must of been the only one. Someone please tell me why this band hasn’t gotten their due.

2. Gogol Bordello
The gypsy punk band was the highlight of my Bumbershoot 2007 experience, so I had to check them out when they headlined at the Showbox Sodo. They did not disappoint with 2 hours of non-stop music and spectacle.

2. The Dodos
Fellow Sweaty Bitch Julie Garisto clued me into this San Fransisco band after she saw them in Portland. I had had a chance to see them at the Capitol Block party and they were phenomenal. They are so tight and really just a breath of fresh air. My only complaint? That they couldn’t play longer.

1. Jaguar Love
Jaguar Love consists of former members from Blood Brothers and Pretty Girls Make Graves. I was able to catch them live at a secret show right before their European tour. It had the feel of seeing a high school band play in your grandmother’s living room, yet it was so loud and intense that I couldn’t hear for days and I waxing poetically about them for weeks. It was hands down the best show I’ve seen in Seattle so far. Look for these guys when they tour the States. I expect nothing less than World Domination.

Comments
  1. This list has got soul.
    It gets my vote!

  2. The Hall and Oates clip must be nominated immediately for a Sweaty Bitches Video Award. Now we will we have to have a ceremony to go with it. If the Waldorf is booked, we can probably get a perfectly good deal at some accomodating diner.

  3. CHADDECEFLY says:

    I highly enjoyed reading this article, keep up making such exciting posts!

Leave a Reply

